Armel Desrues

Biography

After spending his childhood in Brittany, near Saint Malo, where his father, a cabinetmaker, passed on to him his passion for the matter, Armel Desrues decided in turn to tame the matter.

At the age of 15, he studied at the National Glass School in Auvergne where he learned traditional glass blowing. In his second year, he prepared for the competition for the best apprentice in France at the prestigious Baccarat glassworks, and won the silver medal.

After several internships with craftsmen in France such as Alain Guiot and Martine Durand-Gasselin, he left for Germany to attend a glass school where he discovered another vision of glass, wheel engraving, stained glass and spun glass. During his last year, Armel Desrues met Xavier De Mirbeck in his studio in Belleville, where he discovered Monica Guggigsberg and Phillipe Baldwin. He returned to Paris several times to assist them in the preparation of a retrospective exhibition in Geneva. At the same time, his meeting with the wood sculptor Souliman taught him the importance of drawing.

At the age of 19, he moved to Montreal, Canada, to experiment with a new approach to glass. He trained at the Espace Verre school in a three-year programme focusing on blown glass, but also on glass paste, cold glass and spun glass, which enabled Armel Desrues to broaden his field of knowledge and build his own artistic language. At the end of his second year, he left for Vancouver to work for two months as a glassblower technician.

In 2012, the artist received a grant from the Corning Museum Of Glass located in the United States in the state of New York. He then spent two weeks with Czech artist Martin Janecky to perfect his sculpting techniques. Today, Armel Desrues practises his craft and his art within the glass artisans' collective Holmegaard Vaerk in Copenhagen, Denmark.

                                     
 

Exhibition at the Mayaro Gallery

In September 2022, Mayaro will dedicate to Armel Desrues his first exhibition in France.

 

Awards

2013 Bourse d étude, classe de Martin Janecky, Corning Museum Of Glass, NY, États-Unis . 2008 Médaille d’argent «Concours meilleur apprenti de France ».

 

Passed Exhibitions

2022 Solo Show, Galerie Mayaro, Paris, France . 2022 Exposition Collective Rêver la Matière, Galerie Mayaro, Paris, France . 2014 SiO2, Espace Verre, Montréal, QC, Canada . 2012 Glass Art Society, exposition étudiante, Chicago, IL, États-Unis .

Armel Desrues

Biographie

Après avoir passé son enfance en Bretagne, près de Saint Malo où son père ébéniste lui a transmis sa passion pour la matière, Armel Desrues décide à son tour d’apprivoiser la matière.

A 15 ans, il part étudier à l’École Nationale du Verre en Auvergne ou il apprendra le soufflage à la canne traditionnel. En deuxième année, il prépare à la prestigieuse cristallerie de Baccarat, le concours de meilleur apprenti de France, et il obtient la médaille d’argent.

Après de multiples stages chez des artisans en France comme Alain Guiot et Martine Durand-Gasselin, il part pour l’Allemagne dans une école de verre où il découvre une autre vision du verre, la gravure à la roue, le vitrail et le verre filé. Pendant sa dernière année, Armel Desrues rencontre Xavier De Mirbeck dans son atelier de Belleville, où il découvre Monica Guggigsberg et Phillipe Baldwin. Il retourne plusieurs fois à Paris pour les assister dans la préparation d’une exposition rétrospective à Genève. En parallèle, sa rencontre avec le sculpteur sur bois Souliman lui enseigne l’importance du dessin.

A 19 ans, il part au à Montréal, au Canada, pour y expérimenter une nouvelle approche du verre. Il suit une formation dans l’école Espace Verre au sein d’un programme de trois ans ciblé sur le verre soufflé, mais aussi la pâte de verre, le verre à froid, le verre filé; ce qui permet à Armel Desrues d’agrandir son champ de connaissances et de se construire un langage artistique qui lui est propre. En fin de deuxième année, il part à Vancouver pour travailler pendant deux mois comme technicien souffleur.

En 2012, l’artiste reçoit une bourse par le Corning Museum Of Glass situé au États-Unis dans l’état de New York. Il passera alors deux semaines aux côtés de l’artiste tchèque Martin Janecky pour perfectionner ses techniques de sculpture, puis cinq mois en résidence artistique à Taipei. Il s'inscrit à la Royal Academy of design and architecture à Copenhague, au Danemark. Jusqu'à sa disparition brutale en 2022, il exerçait son art au sein du collectif d’artisans verriers Holmegaard Vaerk à Copenhague. 

                                     
 

Exposition à la Galerie Mayaro

Du 19 octobre au 19 janvier 2023 , Mayaro consacre à Armel Desrues une exposition hommage.

 

Prix

2022: Statens Kunstfond, "Work grants for new talents - crafts and design". 2020: Premier prix Svaneke Gaarden, Danemark. 2014-2015: Artist in residence Espace Verre, Montréal, Canada. 2014: Artist in residence Dream Community, Taiwan / Prix de la Caisse de la culture, Canada. 2013: Bourse d'étude, classe de Martin Janecky, Corning Museum Of Glass, NY, États-Unis. 2008: Prix d'argent pour le prix du meilleur apprenti souffleur de verre, France.

 

Expositions passées 

2022: Exposition Collective Rêver la Matière, Galerie Mayaro, Paris, France . 2021: Maker's dimension, Bornholm Kunstmuseum, Glasmuseet Ebeltoft, Bygning A gallery, Copenhague, Danemark. 2020: Autonomous Craft Objects, Grønbech Gård, Hasle, Danemark / Svaneke Gaarden, Svaneke, Danemark. 2019: Au coin Desrues, Cancale, France. 2018: Gifted Glass exhibition, National Glass center, Sunderland, Royaume-Uni. 2017: Collection Dream Community, Taipei, Taiwan / SiO2, Espace Verre, Montréal, QC, Canada . 2012 Glass Art Society, exposition étudiante, Chicago, IL, États-Unis .