Reopening of the gallery from May 19, 2021 - Extension until July 29, 2021 of the exhibition "Replis" Laurent Jaffrennou

Maxime Perrolle

Maxime Perrolle, woodturner artist

Biography

Maxime Perrolle is a sculptor who expresses himself through woodturning and whose artistic work explores the link between the tree and its essence. .

The great giants of the forests have always held a form of fascination for the artist. At the age of 15, during the Journées des Métiers d'Art, he visited the workshop of a cabinetmaker, a former student of the Ecole Boulle. First step of his path towards wood, Maxime Perrolle turns to cabinet making studies. But it is when he accompanies his brother to one of his friends wood turner, a few years later, that he really discovers his way.

In 2016, he began specialized training at the Escoulen school, a high temple of wood turning. Today, based in a workshop near Paris, Maxime Perrolle has turned away from utility and cabinet making to devote himself entirely to woodturning and sculpture. His work is guided by the veins of the material, its life lines, with an obsession: the search for lightness, the point of balance that transcends the material in prayer..

Maxime Perrolle, Lignes, Mayaro 2019

Exhibition at Mayaro Gallery

Lines, July-October 2019

Above all, there are the trees. The artist chooses each stump in the forest or from a supplier who respects the environment and the health of his forest park. Once at the workshop, he removes the heart of the tree, a sensitive and fragile organ. He then removes the bark with a chainsaw and cuts the stump into several pieces. Then the artist places each of them on the lathe and begins by making them smooth and spherical.

Then begins the most technical part of the woodturner's work, the hollowing. This step involves the use of specific tools: gouges that are used to hollow the wood and need to be sharpened several times a day, four-way calipers to measure hard-to-reach angles and thicknesses, or articulated tools that are used when the artist is working ≪ a firm neck ≫ based solely on the vibrations of the wood and his or her own feeling.

When the artist is satisfied with the shape obtained, he belts his piece and covers it with shavings in order to slowly dry out the wood and control its deformation. Then comes the work of texture and the search for material effects. Carved in a block of oak, Coquille evokes the line of a sleeping volcano's escarpment. The blacks, ochres and oxides of these sculptures, obtained through natural pigments or flashlight burning, testify to a quest for depth and minerality.

Each work is a dialogue between the massive appearance of wood and its lightness once worked, the volume of air occupied and the point of balance on the ground, minimal. Sphere, Oxide or Ikebana, like magical fruits left by the storm, all share only a tiny meeting point with the horizon.

In his momentum, Maxime Perrolle refines the mass to the breaking point and defies the laws of gravity to create works ready to join a new element, the air.

Prices

2019 - Young Creation Award, Atelier d'Art de France . 2018 - Young Talent Award, Young Talent Prize, Carrousel des Métiers d'Art et de Création . 2018 - Banque Populaire Foundation, Jury Art Trades

Past exhibitions

2019 - Révélations (Paris), International Biennial of Art and Creative Crafts, Grand Palais / AFTAB stand . 2018 - Ambiguïtés exhibition (Paris), L'Atelier gallery, Atelier d'Art de France / Carrousel of arts and crafts (Paris), Louvre Carrousel / Résonances (Strasbourg), European exhibition of arts and crafts /, National danse center / Salon Collect, Craft Council (Londres), represented by Maison Parisienne

Prolongation jusqu'au 29 juillet 2021 de exposition "Replis" Laurent Jaffrennou

Maxime Perrolle

Maxime Perrolle, artiste tourneur sur bois

Biographie

Maxime Perrolle est un sculpteur qui s’exprime à travers le tournage sur bois et dont le travail artistique explore le lien entre l’arbre et son essence.

Les grands géants des forêts ont toujours exercé une forme de fascination sur l’artiste. C’est vers l’âge de 15 ans, à l’occasion des Journées des Métiers d’Art, qu’il visite l’atelier d’un ébéniste, ancien de l’école Boulle. Première étape de son chemin vers le bois, Maxime Perrolle s’oriente vers des études d’ébénisterie. Mais c’est lorsqu’il accompagne son frère chez un de ses amis tourneur sur bois, quelques années plus tard, qu’il découvre véritablement sa voie.

En 2016, il entame une formation spécialisée à l’école Escoulen, haut temple du tournage sur bois. Aujourd’hui installé dans un atelier près de Paris, Maxime Perrolle s’est détourné de l’utilitaire et de l’ébénisterie pour se consacrer entièrement au tournage et à la sculpture sur bois. Son travail est guidé par les veines de la matière, ses lignes de vie, avec une obsession : la recherche de la légèreté, du point d’équilibre qui transcende la matière en prière.

                                     
 Maxime Perrolle, Lignes, Mayaro 2019

Exposition à la Galerie Mayaro

Lignes, juillet-octobre 2019

Avant toute chose, il y a les arbres. L’artiste choisit chaque souche en foret ou auprès d’un fournisseur respectueux de l’environnement et de la santé de son parc forestier. Une fois a l’atelier, il retire le cœur de l’arbre, organe sensible et fragile. Il enlevé ensuite l’écorce a la tronçonneuse et taille la souche en plusieurs morceaux. Puis l’artiste place chacun d’entre eux sur le tour et commence par les rendre lisses et sphériques.

Commence alors la partie la plus technique du travail de tourneur sur bois, le creusage. Cette étape implique l’utilisation d’outils spécifiques : les gouges qui servent a creuser le bois et qui nécessitent d’être affûtées plusieurs fois par jour, les compas a quatre voies pour mesurer les angles et épaisseurs difficiles a atteindre, ou encore les outils articules qui sont utilises lorsque l’artiste travaille ≪ a col ferme ≫, selon les seules vibrations du bois et son propre ressenti.

Quand l’artiste est satisfait de la forme obtenue, il ceinture sa pièce et la recouvre de copeaux afin d’assécher lentement le bois et de contrôler sa déformation. Vient ensuite le travail de la texture et la recherche des effets de matières. Taillée dans un bloc de chêne, Coquille évoque par sa ligne le col escarpe d’un volcan endormi. Les noirs, ocres et oxydes de ces sculptures, obtenus a travers des pigments naturels ou du brûlage au chalumeau, témoignent d’une quête de profondeur et de minéralité.

Chaque œuvre est un dialogue entre l’apparence massive du bois et sa légèreté une fois travaille, le volume d’air occupe et le point d’équilibre au sol, minimal. Sphère, Oxyde ou Ikebana, tels des fruits magiques laisses par l’orage, ne partagent tous qu’un infime point de rencontre avec l’horizon.

Dans son élan, Maxime Perrolle affine la masse jusqu’au point de rupture et défie les lois de la pesanteur pour créer des œuvres prêtes a rejoindre un nouvel élément, l’air.

 

Prix 

2019 - Prix de la Jeune création métiers d’art, Atelier d’Art de France . 2018 - Prix Jeune Talent, Carrousel des Métiers d’Art et de Création . 2018 - Fondation Banque Populaire, Jury Métiers d’art

Exposition passées

2019 - Révélations (Paris), Biennale internationale métiers d’art et de création, Grand palais / Stand AFTAB . 2018 - Exposition Ambiguïtés (Paris), galerie L’Atelier, Atelier d’Art de France / Carrousel des métiers d’art et de création (Paris), Carrousel du Louvre / Résonances (Strasbourg), Salon européen des métiers d’arts / Biennale Emergences (Pantin), Centre nationale de la danse / Salon Collect, Craft Council (Londres), représenté par Maison Parisienne